It’s about two weeks from Coronation and Katie still can’t stop talking about Michael, the guy she met on Coronation night and danced with. I remember what he looked like because we were around the same height, her being about 5’4 and him being 6’0 it must have been hard to see him on the dark dance floor. The Monday after the dance we spent all of lunch debating if she should send him a Valentine. Our school has a fundraiser to deliver bottles of Crush soda to your crush and she thought it would be a cute idea to give him one with her number on it, and see if he felt the same way as her. I was so proud of her, she never did anything like that before and I was all on board because you know you have to put yourself out there sometimes, and it wasn’t me so why wouldn’t I tell her to go for it? After the crush bottle got delivered she constantly checked her phone asking me if I think he got it, if he might not like her, if he thought it was a joke, oh my gosh was I glad it wasn’t me. Being in yearbook she has access to any class she wants to take pictures, she also has access to everyone’s schedule. With a quick text to Matt, the guy who set them up, we had a last name. We found out the bottle was sent to his guitar class, the next day she went in to “take pictures”. She scoped the room, which I imagine couldn’t have been easy if she has no idea what he looked like, she only have the descriptions I gave her. She walked up to the guy that most likely matched the description and was like:
“Hi, do I know you?”
He (I’m assuming trying to play it cool) said “Um maybe, you do look familiar.”
Getting tired of playing this game she said “Oh, Coronation, we danced together right?”
“Oh yeah, that’s right we did.”
“Did you get my crush bottle?”
“Oh that was from you, ok, yeah I did, thanks.”
She was upset he didn’t text her after she put herself out there. They exchanged a few more words learning she was in yearbook and he was in advanced guitar, the only student in the entire class that was in advanced guitar.
As she retold me the store there wasn’t a sad look on her face the entire time, she was just happy to get to talk to him. Till this day he still hasn’t texted her, and she nonchalantly brings it up every day. I feel bad for her and she’s getting more anxious as the days go by. Personally I really do hope he texts her, usually I’m very rude about my friends dating someone I’m all for it but when it happens it makes me take a look at my boring love life, something I don’t think anyone likes doing. She deserves to be happy, and they really did have a good time, I’ll update when something new happens.
Dedicated To: The girls who are brave enough to put their heart out there not knowing what will happen.
